New To Atlanta Area

That's what we're here for.

New To Atlanta Area

Postby Dominic49 » Wed Jul 06, 2005 8:49 pm

Hello I am new to Atlanta. Just came from Houston. Love Mountain biking. Where are the trails at?
Dominic49
Training Wheel Tyke

Postby iridetitus » Wed Jul 06, 2005 10:12 pm

in houston...
iridetitus

Postby clem » Wed Jul 06, 2005 10:42 pm

iridetitus wrote:in houston...

Now now, where's that vaunted southern hospitality?
clem
Rock Hopper

Postby Dominic49 » Wed Jul 06, 2005 11:33 pm

ok ok i know... i had a mountain bike.. on some offroad trails.. not many hills but what we had we cherrished...
Dominic49
Training Wheel Tyke

Postby p0Kem@n » Thu Jul 07, 2005 12:13 am

Pick up a copy of "Mountain Biking in Georgia" by Alex Nutt, and/or "Off The Beaten Track-Vol. III, North Georgia" by Jim Parham at a local bike shop, or at Barnes&Noble or Borders, etc.

Watch for rides here, and post when and where you want to go.

Check the "Trails" section and the "Rides" section of this Forum frequently, to see "what is, what was, and what will be". Most of the local bike shops can put you on to rides, and we are always posting new rides.

Always check the Home Page here, and the menu areas to the left.

Popular Greater Atlanta trails include Blankets Creek, Big Creek, Central Park, and for "riding off-road on a road" (converted railine)...the Silver Comet trail. Further from the city you have Chicopee Woods and Tumbling Creek near Gainesville, Ga., as well as the 1996 Olympic trail at the Ga. Internation Horse Park near Conyers, Ga.

Many more mountainous and challenging trails are found both north and south of Atlanta, when you can make a day of travel and riding.

Trail maps can be found under the trails section here: http://www.rambo-mtb.org/

Good riding! :)
The secret to mountain biking is pretty simple. The slower you go, the more likely you'll crash / JULIE FURTADO
If you ain't crashin, you ain't ridin / ANONYMOUS
p0Kem@n
Rock Hopper